
Best eSIM for Egypt in 2026: Cairo, Luxor & Red Sea Data From $4
YonoSIM routes on Orange Egypt, one of the country's two widest networks. A typical 1-week trip needs 3–5 GB from a few dollars, and an eSIM sidesteps the passport-registration hassle of local physical SIMs. Plan sizing for Cairo, Luxor, Aswan, a Nile cruise, and the Red Sea.
Published July 4, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·6 min read
30-day auto-refund on no usageSummary
For a 1-week Egypt trip, 3–5 GB on an Orange-backed travel eSIM costs US$5–9 and gives dependable 4G/LTE across Cairo, the Giza pyramids, Luxor, Aswan, and the Red Sea resorts. Better still, an eSIM skips the passport registration a local physical SIM requires — you install before you fly.
| Plan | Price | Network | Speed | After daily allowance | IP breakout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 days | US$5.99 | Orange / Etisalat / Vodafone | 5G | 512 Kbps | UK |
| 3.0 GB · 15 days | US$6.99 | Orange / Etisalat / Vodafone | 5G | — | UK |
| 3.0 GB · 30 days | US$8.99 | Orange / Etisalat / Vodafone | 5G | — | UK |
Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.
How Egypt mobile networks work in 2026
Egypt has four carriers — Vodafone Egypt, Orange Egypt, e& Egypt (formerly Etisalat), and WE (Telecom Egypt). Vodafone and Orange have the widest national footprint, delivering reliable 4G/LTE across Cairo, Giza, Luxor, Aswan, and the Nile valley, plus the Red Sea resort towns of Hurghada and Sharm el-Sheikh. Coverage thins out in the deep Western Desert but holds along the main tourist corridors.
Vodafone Egypt supplies no travel eSIM brand — you can only get it on a local SIM registered against your passport. The travel eSIMs you can actually buy for Egypt (Saily, Airalo, Holafly, YonoSIM) route on Orange, so the difference between providers is price and plan structure, not raw network quality.
Egypt eSIM 2026: who wins on what
Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 20 August 2026.
| Category | Winner | Runner-up | On what basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widest coverage | Airalo | YonoSIM | 2 networks published vs 1 |
| Cheapest per GB | Nomad | Airalo | $1.85/GB vs $1.96 — at 20 GB / $37 / 30 days |
| Widest plan range | Nomad & Saily | YonoSIM & Airalo | 8 distinct data sizes vs 7 |
| Publishes its network | YonoSIM & Airalo | — | Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier |
| Brand | Networks in Egypt | Best $/GB | Plans | Sizes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YonoSIM | Orange (5G) | $2.00 | 36 | 7 |
| Airalo | Orange + 1 more | $1.96 | 57 | 7 |
| Nomad | Not disclosed | $1.85 | 26 | 8 |
| Saily | Not disclosed | $2.00 | 18 | 8 |
| Holafly | Not disclosed | — | — | — |
Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 20 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.
Which one to pick
- Coverage first? Airalo publishes more networks here than we do — 2 networks published vs 1.
- Cheapest data is Nomad at $1.85/GB — YonoSIM is $2.00.
- Want an unusual data size? Nomad & Saily offer the most granular ladder (8 distinct sizes).
- Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.
Plan size by trip length
| Trip length | Data | Typical price | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3–5 days | 1–3 GB | US$3–6 | Maps + messaging |
| 7 days | 5 GB | US$9–12 | Standard tourist use |
| 10–14 days | 10 GB | US$22–27 | Nile cruise + Red Sea combo |
| 10+ days | Unlimited | US$20–25 | Streaming, hotspot, workation |
eSIM vs local SIM vs pocket Wi-Fi for Egypt
| Option | Cost | Setup time | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM (Orange) | Low | ~5 min, no passport | Excellent (local carrier) |
| Local physical SIM | Low | Shop + passport registration | Excellent (local carrier) |
| Pocket Wi-Fi | Medium | Airport pickup | Good (extra device to charge) |
Best Egypt eSIM for your trip type
Cairo + Giza city break (3–5 days): a 3 GB single-country plan at US$4–6 handles maps to the pyramids, Careem rides, and museum bookings.
Classic Nile cruise (Luxor to Aswan, ~7 days): a 5 GB plan at US$5–9. Coverage holds at most temple stops and along the river; expect brief gaps between towns.
Red Sea diving or resort week (Hurghada / Sharm el-Sheikh): 5–10 GB so you can upload dive photos and video-call home. Browse options via YonoSIM's Egypt coverage.
FAQ
QWhich Egypt carrier has the best coverage for tourists?
AVodafone Egypt and Orange Egypt have the widest, most reliable coverage across Cairo, Giza, Luxor, Aswan, and the Red Sea resorts; e& (Etisalat) and WE (Telecom Egypt) are strong in cities. Vodafone Egypt supplies no travel eSIM brand — you can only get it on a local SIM registered against your passport. YonoSIM routes on Orange Egypt.
QHow much data does a 1-week Egypt trip actually need?
A3–5 GB covers standard tourist use: Google Maps, WhatsApp, ride apps like Uber/Careem, social media, and light streaming. Heavy users (video calls home, hotspot for a laptop, uploading pyramid photos) should bump to 10 GB or unlimited. Prices start at a few dollars for 3 GB / 7 days.
QCan tourists buy and register a SIM in Egypt easily?
AA local physical SIM requires showing your passport for registration at an official carrier shop, and lines at airport kiosks can be slow. An eSIM sidesteps that entirely — you install it on Wi-Fi before you fly, with no passport registration, no shop visit, and no SIM swap. You land in Cairo or Hurghada with data already on.
QDoes my US or UK phone work with an Egypt eSIM?
AIf your phone is eSIM-capable (iPhone XS+, Galaxy S20+, Pixel 4+) and carrier-unlocked, yes. Egypt uses standard GSM 4G/LTE bands. Install on home Wi-Fi the day before you fly — your phone auto-connects when you land at Cairo, Hurghada, or Sharm el-Sheikh airport.
Bottom line
For most Egypt travelers, a 5 GB Orange-backed travel eSIM at ~US$5–9 is the right call — install at home before you fly, skip the passport-registration queue, and land in Cairo with data already on. Planning a Cairo + Nile + Red Sea itinerary? Size up to 10 GB so you never run dry between temples. For trip inspiration, see Egypt's official tourism site.
Related guides
- Best eSIM for Dubai UAE 2026
- Best eSIM for Qatar 2026
- Best eSIM for Morocco 2026
- Best eSIM for Turkiye 2026
- Keep your number abroad — eSIM + Wi Fi Calling 2026
Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-egypt-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM