London skyline with 5G icon — United Kingdom travel eSIM buying guide 2026

Best eSIM for the UK 2026: O2 & Three Data Plans From ~$5

YonoSIM's UK eSIM rides EE, O2, and Three, three of the country's four national 4G/5G networks. A 10GB plan covers a typical 1–2 week London-and-beyond trip for far less than US/EU roaming. Buying guide with a side-by-side comparison.

By · Founder, YonoSIMLinkedIn ↗

Published June 30, 2026·Updated August 20, 2026·5 min read

30-day auto-refund on no usage

Summary

For a 1–2 week UK trip, a 10GB travel eSIM at ~US$10–15 riding EE's award-winning network, O2, or Three gives wide 4G/5G coverage across London and beyond. Independent network tests rank EE first for UK coverage and 5G, and a prepaid eSIM costs far less than US or EU roaming.

UK eSIM plans — live from our catalogue
PlanPriceNetworkSpeedAfter daily allowanceIP breakout
Day Pass · 500 MB/day at full speed · Flexible 1–365 daysUS$1.99O2 / EE / 35G512 KbpsFR/NL/UK
3.0 GB · 30 daysUS$2.99O2 / EE / 35G—FR/NL/UK
50 GB · 180 daysUS$54.99O2 / EE / 35G—FR/NL/UK

Hotspot and tethering are allowed on every plan we sell. Plans are data-only unless the plan page states otherwise — only selected plans carry calls or SMS. IP breakout is where your traffic exits the network, which is not always the country you are visiting. Prices and networks are read from the same catalogue that powers our machine-readable pricing file, so this table cannot go stale against checkout.

How UK networks work in 2026

Four operators run the UK: EE, Vodafone, Three, and O2. EE consistently posts the widest coverage and strongest 5G, with Vodafone close behind — and Vodafone and Three recently combined their networks under VodafoneThree. YonoSIM routes across EE, O2, and Three, so you get the same towers a local SIM uses, with 5G across London, Manchester, Edinburgh, and Birmingham.

UK eSIM 2026: who wins on what

Five brands, the same five questions, in every country guide we publish. Coverage figures are each brand’s own published network list; price and plan figures come from esimDB, checked 20 August 2026.

CategoryWinnerRunner-upOn what basis
Widest coverageYonoSIMAiralo3 networks published vs 1
Cheapest per GBYonoSIMNomad$0.66/GB vs $0.70 — at 50 GB / $32.99 / 30 days
Widest plan rangeYonoSIMSaily10 distinct data sizes vs 9
Publishes its networkYonoSIM & Airalo—Nomad, Saily, Holafly name no carrier
BrandNetworks in UKBest $/GBPlansSizes
YonoSIM3 (4G) · O2 (5G) · T-Mobile UK (5G)$0.667610
AiraloEE$0.78788
NomadNot disclosed$0.70358
SailyNot disclosed$1.55299
HolaflyNot disclosed———

Networks are each brand's own published figure. Prices, plan counts, and data sizes via esimDB, checked 20 August 2026. Holafly publishes neither a per-country carrier nor plans on esimDB, so it cannot be scored on price or range here. Plan range is counted in distinct data sizes, not plan count.

Which one to pick

  • Coverage first? YonoSIM publishes the most networks in the UK (3 (4G) · O2 (5G) · T-Mobile UK (5G)).
  • Cheapest data: YonoSIM at $0.66/GB, ahead of Nomad at $0.70.
  • Want an unusual data size? YonoSIM offers the most granular ladder (10 distinct sizes).
  • Want the data back if you don’t use it? YonoSIM refunds unused data automatically after 30 days; the others require you to ask. Check each brand’s current terms before you buy.

Plan size by trip length

Trip lengthDataTypical priceBest for
3–5 days3 GBUS$2–4Maps + Tube + messaging
1–2 weeks10 GBUS$7–9Standard tourist use
3+ weeks / heavy use20 GBUS$14–18Streaming, hotspot, uploads

eSIM vs roaming vs pocket Wi-Fi

OptionCostSetup timeCoverage
eSIM (EE / O2 / Three)Low~5 min (pre-install on Wi-Fi)Excellent (local 4G/5G)
Carrier roamingHighInstant (already enabled)Medium (partner-dependent)
Pocket Wi-FiMediumAirport pickup / rentalGood (extra device to charge)

Best pick for your trip type

Long weekend in London (3–5 days): a 3GB plan at US$5–10. One-to-two-week England/Scotland tour: a 10GB plan at US$10–15 for daily maps, rail apps, and uploads. Long stay or heavy streaming: a 20GB plan. Browse the full lineup on YonoSIM's Europe page.

FAQ

QWhich UK network has the best coverage for tourists?

AEE consistently tops UK coverage and 5G rankings, with Vodafone and Three close behind. YonoSIM routes across EE, O2, and Three, so coverage in London and major cities is excellent and reaches well into rural areas.

QHow much does a UK travel eSIM cost?

AFixed-data plans start at a few dollars for 3GB and US$10–15 for 10GB (30 days). A 5–10GB plan covers a typical 1–2 week trip of maps, the Tube, contactless apps, and social use.

QIs there 5G in the UK in 2026?

AYes. EE, Vodafone, Three, and O2 all run 5G across London and major cities, and most travel eSIMs connect to 5G where available — fast enough for streaming, video calls, and hotspot use.

QWill my phone work with a UK eSIM?

AIf your phone is eSIM-capable (iPhone XS+, Galaxy S20+, Pixel 4+) and carrier-unlocked, yes. Install on home Wi-Fi before you fly and it auto-connects when you land at Heathrow, Gatwick, or Manchester.

Bottom line

For most UK visitors, a 10GB O2- or Three-backed travel eSIM at ~US$10–15 is the right call — install at home, land at Heathrow with data on, and skip roaming. Long stays or heavy streamers should jump to a 20GB plan.

Related guides

Originally published on www.yonosim.com/en/blog/best-esim-uk-2026 · YonoSIM — You Only Need One SIM